Understand 

Understand By: Jenny Alforria 
I wish someone could peer into the cracks of my broken soul. 

And understand what makes me so cold.

I wish someone could see behind

 the lies I tell 

and know that I’m not well. 

I wish someone could look into my eyes and see that even when I’m laughing

I really want to cry.

I wish someone could hear the beats of my heart 

and still know despite the beating 

it’s still torn completely apart. 

I wish someone could see past the small talk of I’m ok or I’m fine 

and see the pain of my torchered mind.

I wish there was someone who could understand how I’m running 

but still can’t stand still enough to look into the mirror 

and look at who I am. 

I wish there was someone who could hold my hand 

and walk with me into the darkness

 I feel like I can’t withstand 

I wish there was someone with me 

on this lonely island of my PTSD 

So they knew I was a cast away 

and therefore see 

how hard connecting with other people 

is for me. 

I wish there was someone who really understood 

But then again what if there was someone who really could…..

They would have to of gone through the same things as me. 

And I am the same person I don’t want to meet. 

Leave a Reply

